Economics and Politics of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) collaborated with Monash University’s Centre for Development Economics and Sustainability to host an online discussion on the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) signed on 15 November 2020 by ASEAN member countries, Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, and New Zealand — notably excluding the USA and India. The formation of this world’s largest free trade agreement, amidst rising trade and political tensions, notably between China, the USA, and Australia, sparked debates on its economic and political implications. Crucial questions raised included whether the RCEP would aid in consolidating an open trade and investment regime in the region, and if it was a reflection of Chinese dominance in shaping the regional trade agenda.

Dates: Thursday, March 25, 2021